Weekends on $5

May 9, 2011 § Leave a comment

Now that my loans are coming in full throttle, forcing me to have a budget like a real adult, I’ve also been forced to cut back on living like college isn’t over. As an only child, my parents are more than happy to fund my big city living, but being the stingy and guilt-ridden offspring that I am, I’m trying my hardest to survive without the automatic deposits courtesy of my mother.

I’ve tried working 9-5 M-F and pretending I don’t need human interaction, because I didn’t want to spare the cash on movies or dinners or even what would be considered normal, cheap socializing activities; a few dollars on beers every couple of days that always add up to much more than you thought it would by the end of the month. I’ve also tried restricting myself to finding as many places as I could that gave away free food to save on cash, but such events of any significance are few and far between, and the efforts were fruitless.

And so I’ve come to the conclusion that I won’t be a hermit, and will be trying to find ways to entertain myself for free in this fair city of ours (i.e. New York) without resorting to too many old fall backs, like trying to pass off reading in Washington Square Park by the fountain as new and exciting. I will catalogue as many of these things as possible on this page.

I will also (reluctantly) be paying for my own food, but most likely not in my attempts to get out of the house. Let’s not get crazy.

Tagged: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Weekends on $5 at maria rocha-buschel.

meta

